Blog Detail

EEVS NAV Cricket Tournament Concludes

13 Mar 17
No Comments

12 March 2017

The 12th Edition of Nepalese Association of Victoria, this year as EEVS and NAV Cricket Tournament concluded today.

The winner of the tournament was Himalayan Hurricanes (The Himalayan Clubs), whereas the runner ups were Gorkhali Lions (Gorkhali Cricket Team). The third place was take by Sagarmatha Renegades after they won against Narre Kings.

Himalayan Huricanes won the match by 70 Runs. Himalayan Huricanes made 210 in 20 overs whereas Gorkhali Lions made only 140 runs. Captain Sunam Gautam from Himalayan Hurricanes scored 104 runs and claimed Best batsman, Man of the match in final and player of the series. The following were the best players in respective fields.  Best bowler: Ashish Dahal (Himalayan Hurricanes) and Kishor Kandel (Narre Kings), Best wicket keeper Susan Gurung(Sagarmatha Renegades) and Best fielder Sudarsahn Rijal (Himalayan Huricanes).  Fair Play Team award went to Sagarmatha Stars.

Two women’s cricket teams from Nepalese Community in Melbourne also played against each other. The team led by Yamuna Gaire was the winner, where as the team led by Anita Sapkota was the runner up. Angila Chapagain was player of the match.

Earlier on the day, two kids cricket teams, being trained under Milo2Cricket also have a match against each other.

The day also saw a friendly match between NAV Executive Committee and Melbourne Nepalese Corporate Team. Sunod shrestha was player of the match.

Considering above, we believe that NAV’s has progressed further in contributing to physical fitness of all the community members through sports.

NAV once again thanks all the sponsors and supporters as well as media partners. NAV also thanks all the cricket clubs for their participation.

Dr Anupam Pokharel NAV President, Tara Gaire, NAV Vice President, Bharat Tiwari, Anup Rana and Santosh Bastakoti (NAV Ex com) coordinated the prize ceremony. The program was conducted in the presence of Consulate General Chandra Yonjan,  Expert Education and Visa Services Chairman Saroj Sharma, Darebin Council Deputy Mayor Cr Gaetano Greco, Darebin Ethnic Communities Council Chair Sureyan , NAV Immediate Past President Sudhir Shakya, NAV Advisors Jog Limbu and other community leaders and supporters.

For photographs, please click or

Few photographs are posted below.

The Winning Team. Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne


Once of the members of Women’s cricket team receiving a medal. Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne


First Runner Up Gorkhali Lions. Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne


Winner Corporate Team against NAV Excom Team. Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne

Winning Trophy to Himalayan Hurricanes Captain Sunam Gautam being jointly awarded by Saroj Sharma and Basanta Pokharel (EEVS) and NAV Committee Members Tara Gaire (VP), Bharat Tiwari and Santosh Bastakoti. Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne.

Player of the tournament Prize to Sunam Gautam. Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne

NAV Vice President and Sports Head. Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne

Bhatat Tiwari and Santosh Bastakoti, NAV Sport Backbones Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne

Darebin Council Deputy Mayor awarding Runner up certificate to Prayash Subedi, Gorkhali Lions. Courtesy The Nepali Times Melbourne

With Past President Sudhir Shakya and DECC President. Courtesy MNTV.

Mr Jog Limbu awarding Best Batsman a cricket bat. Courtesy MNTV.







Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.