Blog Detail

NAV Celebrates Nepalese Community Spirit in Victoria

11 Apr 16
No Comments

NAV Celebration11 April 2016

Nepalese Association of Victoria (NAV) organised NAV Community Awards 2016 on Saturday, 9 April 2016 amid a grand fanfare Collingwood in Melbourne.

The program was attended by chief guest Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Hon Robin Scott MP. Dignitaries at the program included Hon Consular General of Nepal for Victoria, Chandra Yonzon, Nepal’s Special Envoy for National Reconstruction Fund & President of NRNA ICC, Dr Shesh Ghale, Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Hon Inga Peulich MP, Assistant Commissioner of Victoria Police Andrew Crisps, Mayor of Moreland City Council, Darebin City Council and City of Yarra, leaders of community organisations, representatives from local government bodies and general public.

NAV President Mr Sudhir Shakya welcomed all guests present at the program. He said “there are also many unsung Heroes in our community who made outstanding achievements and significant contributions without any expectation of rewards or returns. NAV Community Award is to highlight and recognise those individuals or a group.”

NAV Celebration2Addressing the program Chief Guest Hon. Robin Scott MP, Minister for Multicultural Affairs congratulated NAV and the Nepalese community for actively participating in the multiculturalism of Victoria and recognising the achievements made by the members of Nepalese community.

Nepal’s Special Envoy for National Reconstruction Fund & President of NRNA- ICC recalled the earthquake relief activities undertaken by the Nepalese Diaspora last year including his personal experience. He also highlighted the importance of education within the migration community Dr Shesh Ghale, and the opportunities or migrants to excel in Australia.

Speaking at the occasion Hon Chandra Yonzon, Consul General of Nepal for Victoria, emphasised the need of organisation such as NAV to provide support to the Nepalese community and to advocate on their behalf. He stressed that the Nepalese community should now aim at representing in local government bodies and organisations.

Hon Inga Peulich MP, Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs also congratulated NAV for highlighting the achievements of the members of the Nepalese community and also congratulated all the nominees of the awards.

Chairperson of the NAV Awards committee, MR Ranjan Vaidya introduced the Award nomination and selection process during the event. NAV Community Awards is presented in five categories: Language, Art & Culture; Professional or Academic Achievement; Initiation, Leadership or Advocacy; Commendable Service to Nepalese Community; and Young Achiever Award

During the program Mr Jog Limbu, Commissioner of NAV Election Commission conducted the oath ceremony to swear in the new President Dr Anupam Pokharel and the new executive committee.

The guests were entertained by Cultural Performances including dances by NAV Bal Chautari kids.

On behalf of NAV, Mr Sudhir Shakya, thanked all sponsors, community advisors, volunteers and media for their continued support.

We would like to congratulate all the award recipients.

Sudhir Shakyachange of guardList of Awards Recipients:
Language, Art & Culture
Nepal Festival
Baal Chautari

Professional or Acedemic Achievement
Benu Adhikari
Tilak Pokharel
Sewa Rijal
Sunam Gautam

Initiation, Leadership or Advocacy
Samriddhi Adhikari
Jog Limbu

NAV Commendable Service to Nepalese Community
Seven Women
Royal Melbourne Hospital Rehabilitation team
Mosquito Foundation

Young Achiever Award
Dr. Rija Khanal
Ashim Pant
Drishyant Shrestha (Special Category)

We also would like to congratulate nominees Dr Sabitra Kandel Kafle (Language, Arts and Culture), Ganesh Paudel, Saurabh Jha and Tonnou Ghothane (Professional or Academic Achievement), United FC Melbourne (Initiation, Leadership or Advocacy) and Pooja Gurung (Young Achiever).


Media Inquiries:

Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.